Last Week’s Trip to Tokyo

I seem to be spending lots of time in Tokyo. I just love it so much! I was supposed to go to Osaka, but last minute change of plans landed me back in that big city. No big deal, I’ll see Osaka another time. This was definitely a good food trip. Spent 3 days with my brother’s girlfriend and her sister and slept on their hotel room floor since it was actually a semi-double room and I had to be snuck in. They really love their food, which was a huge benefit to me, since I’m usually too cheap to spend that much on anything (including good food). Did some shopping in Harajuku, Shibuya, and Shinjuku. I think I know the Shinjuku area pretty well now. While they slept in saturday morning, I went wandering the area. Our hotel was north of the station, past the red light district. We got to walk through there everytime we went to or from the hotel. Good times. Brother’s GF bought a typical Harajuku dress: frilly, short, baby-doll-ish. It does have a japanese theme to it and was definitely more tame than the other dresses they had there. There was even a Sailor Moon costume. I’m pretty sure EVERY foreigner that went in there, picked it up and pretended to model it. Me included. I might go there to get a halloween costume before I leave. Just for kicks. The dresses are only around $60, so it’s not so bad.

Also went to Kappabashi Street. It’s about 2 or 3 blocks of wholesale cookware on either side. It was interesting because you could get really nice and cheap japanese style flatware and utensils. There were also an assortment of expensive japanese knives as well. We ended up spending most our time in a little packaging store. My brother’s girlfriend is starting a bakery/pastry business and so she bought all kinds of little cups with lids for her little treats. (Ohh how I miss her cheesecakes…*drool*)

I spent one night with my friends and we went out clubbing in Roppongi! TONS of fun! Don’t know the name of the club, but there were lots of foreigners there and they played really good music. Actually made me forget I was in Japan. Good times. I thought it was especially cool how the club stays open until 5am because when everyone is kicked out, the trains are open again! Score 1 for convenience. I’m supposed to go back in October when a friend of mine will move back to Tokyo from Osaka so let the fun continue.

Went to the Gyoza museum in Namja Town. It’s a theme park with a gyoza and ice cream museum inside. It was definitely interesting. We weren’t quite sure what was going on, but there were people running around looking for ghosts possibly? They had head-phones and “tracking devices”. We were just there for the food and ice cream. I got an ice cream in the shape of Rock Lee’s head. He’s a character from the anime Naruto with really thick eyebrows  for those who don’t know who he is. I thought it was really funny becuase my brother has the same eyebrows…Needless to say we had to take a picture for him.

I really love being in Tokyo. It made me miss big city life and convenient public transit. I was definitely sad to leave. But I’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

