Basie Dashboard

Some questions about the dashboard for anyone who wants to discuss it. When Greg first hired me for the month, he said that I’d be working on the dashboard for basie. Now that the first couple of weeks are over, I can safely say that I know my way around the application code structure and have been looking into the dashboard code (just learning what I can about it). I know this wasn’t on the list of 7 things that Greg wanted to have done for v0.2, but I think it’d be fun to work on.I would like to work on it during some spare time over the rest of my summer before I leave and possibly while I’m in Japan after I get settled in.

1. What is the dashboard supposed to be? From my understanding, a dashboard should be what the user sees when then they first log into a project or their account.

2. What content should be displayed? I think for now it will be sufficient to have it project based to keep things simple, but I think it’s important to also have a dashboard that spans several projects. Right now, it is just a series of pretty graphs, which is nice, but I think that encorporating recent events would also be userful and then have navigation to the mail or wiki apps.

3. Does anyone object to me working on this? Since I will likely be working from home and completely during my free time so progress may be slow, does anyone feel uncomfortable with that idea?

Well that is all for now. I just wanted to post this and I’ll wait until Greg returns to Toronto to ask him about it I suppose.

Leave a Reply

